Expanded Access Program

Sometimes called “compassionate use”, expanded access is a potential pathway for a patient with an immediately life-threatening condition or serious disease or condition to gain access to an investigational medical product (drug, biologic, or medical device) for treatment outside of clinical trials when no comparable or satisfactory alternative therapy options are available.

When seeking expanded access to an investigational medical product, it is critical that the patient and his/her licensed physician consider all possible risks. Investigational medical products have not yet been approved or cleared by FDA and FDA has not found these products to be safe and effective for their specific use. Furthermore, the investigational medical product may, or may not, be effective in the treatment of the condition, and use of the product may cause unexpected serious side effects.

Whenever possible, an investigational medical product should be used as part of a clinical trial. However, if patient enrollment is not possible (e.g., patient ineligibility, lack of ongoing clinical trials) or enrollment in a clinical trial is not feasible (e.g., distance to a trial precludes access), expanded access offers a possible route for gaining access to an investigational medical product.

Factors consistent with the US Food and Drug Administration (US FDA) and other regulatory agencies’ guidelines should be taken into account when considering expanded access. These include:

  • The illness must be serious or life-threatening with no other satisfactory treatment options (such as approved products or enrolling clinical trials)
  • There is sufficient evidence that the potential benefit to the patient would likely outweigh the potential risks, based on available safety and efficacy information
  • Ability to provide a product in a fair and equitable manner, so that there is adequate manufacturing capacity for ongoing programs
  • Whether granting expanded access would potentially compromise the scientific validity of broader development many more patients

At this time, we believe that participation in one of our clinical trials is the appropriate way to access our investigational therapies.

If you have additional questions, please speak with your physician or contact expandedaccess@polarispharma.com. We anticipate acknowledging receipt of requests sent to this email within five business days.

Polaris may revise this policy at any time. This website and policy will be updated with a hyperlink or other reference to the expanded access record on clinicaltrials.gov after such record becomes active.

You can view a full list of our clinical trials, here.

Scroll to Top

擴展使用方案

(Expanded Access Program,簡稱EAP)有時也被稱為 “恩慈療法(Compassionate Use)”,擴展使用方案是一種可選擇的途徑,當沒有可比性或令人滿意的替代治療方案時,患有立即危及生命或嚴重疾病狀況的患者可以獲得臨床試驗之外的研究性醫療產品(藥物、生物製劑或醫療設備)進行治療。

在尋求擴展使用研發中醫療產品時,至關重要的是病人和他/她的執業醫師要考慮所有可能的風險。研發中醫療產品尚未取得FDA的批准或認可,FDA尚未確認這些產品對其特定用途是安全和有效的。此外,研發中醫療產品對病情的治療可能有效,也可能無效,而且使用該產品可能引起未預期的嚴重副作用。

研發中醫療產品應盡可能作為臨床試驗的一部分來使用。然而,如果患者無法被納入臨床試驗(例如,患者不符合入案條件,沒有正在進行的臨床試驗),或者納入臨床試驗不可行(例如,距離試驗地點較遠,無法獲得),那麼擴展使用方案提供了獲得研發中醫療產品的可能途徑。

在考慮擴展使用方案時,應思考符合美國食品藥物管理局(US FDA)和其他監管機構準則的因素。 這些包括:

  • 該疾病必須是嚴重的或危及生命的,沒有其他令人滿意的治療方案(如批准的產品或參加臨床試驗)。
  • 根據現有的安全和療效訊息,有足夠的證據顯示,病人的利益可能會超過潛在的風險。
  • 有能力以公平和公正的方式提供產品,以便為正在進行的項目提供足夠的製造能力。
  • 授予擴展使用方案權限是否可能會損害更廣泛開發的科學有效性,更多的患者。

目前,我們認為參加我們的臨床試驗是獲得我們研發中治療的適當途徑。

如果你有其他問題,請與你的主治醫師討論或聯絡 expandedaccess@polarispharma.com。我們預計會在五個工作日內確認收到此電子郵件的請求。

Polaris 可能隨時修改此政策。 本網站和政策將在clinicaltrials.gov 上的擴展使用方案記錄啟用後,使用超鏈接或其他參考方式進行更新。

您可以查看我們臨床試驗的完整列表, 點擊此處.

回到頂端